May your day be sweet and sugary or downright naughty. Whatever works. Enjoy.

Very fine is my valentine.
Very fine and very mine.
Very mine is my valentine very mine and very fine.
Very fine is my valentine and mine, very fine very mine and mine is my valentine.

–         Gertrude Stein

Valentine’s Day. A day exclusively devoted to romantic love in all its manifestations. What could be better? Other commemorative anniversaries are more prosaic, like Remembrance Day, Memorial Day, and St. Swithin’s Day or Groundhog Day. All worthy in their own right, to be sure, but without the allure of what St. Valentine wrought.

I once wrote an article on St. Valentine (and his connection to amour), but I am at a loss to remember the connection and don’t really feel like checking it out. Suffice to say that St. Valentine’s Day – like many saints’ days — probably has very little connectedness with what ‘Val’ himself stood for. Chocolates and flowers, or even seduction, likely weren’t aspects of his ‘good works.’ That’s OK. Cynic though I can be at times, I like Valentine’s Day as it has become.

That’s because I am an incurable romantic. I love ‘love’. I love sweet and lyrical love, and I love down-and-dirty love. Love gives us hope in a challenging world. I have been in love a few times and have had a few people love me. Even though not all instances ended up wonderfully well, I have no regrets and wouldn’t have missed those parts of my life. A toast to all who have been part of my romantic oeuvre on this planet.

Romance: Flowers and music, candlelight and wine, or even a Coleman lantern and coffee in a leaky tent, it’s all good and all such incidents fill our memory banks and can stir sweet reveries if we let them. And we should never forget them. 

So, a wonderful St. Valentine’s Day to all of you and to all you’ve loved or who have loved you back.

My funny Valentine
Sweet comic Valentine
You make me smile with my heart
Your looks are laughable, unphotographable
Yet you’re my favorite work of art

– Rogers and Hart

2 responses to “May your day be sweet and sugary or downright naughty. Whatever works. Enjoy.

  1. Well there you go. That’s one thing we have totally divergent opinions on. I don’t care for it. Never have. Probably because I’m as romantic as a bucket of rocks.

  2. Ah Ian. Along those same lines.
    Alfred Lord Tennyson’s poem In Memoriam:27, 1850:
    I hold it true, whate’er befall;
    I feel it, when I sorrow most;
    ‘Tis better to have loved and lost
    Than never to have loved at all.
    Viva la Valentine!

Leave a Reply

