Sometimes justice is served. This is one of those times

A look at the front page of one of our daily newspapers this morning left me feeling the sort of jubilation that Christmas should evoke, though it rarely does any longer.

The headline read: ‘Proctor killers given life sentences’. A simple and straightforward message that indicates that just maybe things can unfold in the manner they should.

The very brief back story that evoked the headline concerns the actions of two hideous young pieces of psychopathic human excreta who, for reasons that will only ever be known to them in their warped and vile fantasies, decided to take the life of a young woman named Kimberly Proctor in the fine city of Victoria BC. 

The only thought that came to my mind when I read that the evil creepoids had been elevated to adult status by the courts (they were juvies when the crime was committed) was: “Your lives are over, boys.” And metaphorically they are. Then that is justice of a sort. After all, lovely young Kimberly’s life is over thanks to your evil fantasies, and the lives of all of Kimberly’s kin and kith are over, too. I wonder if I hanker after your lives being over in more than a metaphorical manner, but I don’t want to open that debate. 

Now, this is a serious and even dreary subject for a blog, but I felt compelled to expose some of my thoughts on crime, justice, and how we deal with unrelenting evil in certain individuals. I will spare you detail of their hideous crime because even this jaded old newspaper guy found them too disgusting to expose yet again.

Suffice it to say that we are dealing with a duo on a caliber of the Columbine creeps and they didn’t even have the fucking honor to off themselves like the Columbine maniacs. In fact, neither of them showed a hint of remorse during their trial. Neither showed any shame. Shrinks that testified as expert witnesses basically said (to the delight of the prosecution side): “Don’t ever let ‘em out because their potential to do it again is huge!”

Apple doesn’t fall far from the tree dep’t: The father of one of horrible twins is currently serving a life sentence for the brutal rape and murder of a 16-year-old girl.

So, thoughts swirl around in my mind: If I were Kimberly’s parents would I want to take out a contract with somebody in the joint to just rid the world of two individuals who had ruined our lives? Would I like to see them put out in the general prison population where one or two inmates just might be missing their adored younger sisters? Oh yes, I would to the latter, and I could fully understand the former.

I don’t presume to suggest what creates human monsters and I ultimately have no answer as to how a civilized society must deal with such creatures.

All I know is that we must be rid of such people one way or another to make sure that we and our sons and daughters remain as safe as possible.

Nothing will bring Kimberly back, but maybe for her family this leaves a little tiny microcosm of faith that society didn’t fail them.

10 responses to “Sometimes justice is served. This is one of those times

  1. A life sentence. Doesn’t that just mean they’ll be out in 8-10 years? After all, this is Canada.

    Who me? Cynical?

  2. Yes it does, and we share the same thoughts about that bullshit. It does mean they’re eligible for parole hearing after 10 years but I am hoping they’ll be like fuckpigs Olsen and Bernardo and it will just be a proforma matter and they’ll be kept inside forever.

  3. “Incarcerated for life” isn’t long enough. It should include the hereafter…

  4. It gives me hope that the local teenager who killed Laura Szendrei will also be raised to adult court. He was a couple months shy of 18. Two women were attacked on the trail where I walk my dog during the months preceding and only now that he’s in custody do I walk alone there again. These ‘boys’ can tyrannize an entire community.

  5. I like your style, Linda. Punishment for all eternity. Isn’t there something in the Bible about that?

    Andrea: Yes, another hideous case that should receive the maximum punishment allowable by our laws (which are pretty wimpy). Hopefully the Victoria case will set precedent. Actually what I’d like to see is those two bastards dumped in a cell with the equally psychotic and remorseless Kelly Ellard and see at the end of 24 hours who comes out alive.

  6. I’ve been following that case too, and despite all the evidence of the murder being premeditated and the psychiatric assessments strongly suggesting that they were at high risk to reoffend, I have to say that I was surprised – but quite pleased! – that the two juvie creeps had been elevated to adult court. I mean, as Jazz says, this is Canada! We’re NICE. We always give shithead criminals the benefit of the doubt. We believe that everyone can be rehabilitated.

    But not this time. I don’t believe the sentence is enough, or that anything will ever be enough for Kimberly’s family, for that matter. But this is something. The impact on the victim’s family was taken seriously. The hideousness of the crime was taken seriously. The psychological makeup of the little assholes was taken seriously.

    Maybe there’s hope???

  7. I don’t understand how they could be out in 8 to 10 — but I don’t understand the laws in the U.S., either. In clear-cut cases such as this, I think they should be “set free” of their current bodies/lives so as to be born again somewhere else. Nature, nuture, whatever their problem, these two became everyone’s problem.

    Pearl

  8. Pearl: No the 10 years flabbergasts me, too. Couldn’t agree more that they should be liberated from their lives but, alas, in this country some inane forces of sweetness and light took away that option. Little solace to Kimberly’s family in that, but I guess they don’t really count.
    Pinklea: Yes, we do give shithead criminals the benefit of the doubt, and that, to me, is criminal in itself. What happened to retribution?

  9. If it’s like the UK all they have to do is not annoy anyone while they watch TV and play snooker for the next ten years and then convince everyone they’ve found God and then they’ll be free to do it again, but now with tips they have picked up from their fellow inmates……

  10. Wait, they could be out in 10 years for that? Wow. And here in the States, kids in the hood can get 10 years for having a couple of crack rocks in their pocket. Is there justice anywhere?

Leave a Reply

