Forget about Charlize, Angelina and Scarlett, and just give me Flo

It took me a while to figure out why I had fallen in love with Flo. And then it came to me. It’s because she looks just like all the girls I fell in love with in high school.

You know, the vibrant splash of incarnadine lipstick, the big blue eyes like saucers the flipped bob, the overweening perkiness and sense of fun, all of which in combo make me possibly even fantasize the thought of seeing her naked. It’s OK, really, I know that is about as likely as it would have been for me to have dated all my HS crushees.

You know Flo, of course. Flo is the Progressive Insurance girl who no doubt appeals greatly to geezers like me – mainly for the fact we’re the ones who might be interested in insurance ads and their products, and also because we have unresolved high school yearnings even after all these years. Yes, I’d buy insurance from her.

It might come as a surprise to some that Flo is actually a real person and not a teeny-bopper, either. She’s in fact in her early 40s and has considerable notability as a comic and improv performer as well as being a legitimate actress with an ongoing part in the brilliant series, Mad Men. Oh, it’s a minor part in which she – the actress Stephanie Courtney – plays a frumpy receptionist named Madge. I would not have had high school fantasies about Madge, I do confess.

I think it must be odd to be a corporate spokesperson in which the persona comes to overlap the real person you happen to be. I suspect Stephanie shucks her Flo gear when she goes out on the street because otherwise she’d have to contend with all the randy old guys who wanted to meet her.

You know, guys like me who are in love with her.

Maybe our monopolistic state-run insurance corporation could hire Flo as a spokesperson. I might feel more benevolent about renewing if that were the case.

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Forget about Charlize, Angelina and Scarlett, and just give me Flo

  1. You are not alone. My husband, Lithus, has a neice up in Canada who is the spitting image of Flo. My nephew, down here in the States ~ so they have never met ~ wants to marry said neice based solely on her resemblance to Flo. 🙂

  2. Odd. My husband wondered how she got the job. Also I saw her present a bit on Leno and it was not funny. She should keep her day job as Flo.

  3. Being ” Flo” may pay better than a lot of gigs an over-40 actress in the States could get…a sad commentary about American preoccupation with youth. I’ll have to check out Mad Men again, now that you’ve mentioned it.

Leave a Reply

