Dead is dead. As far as I know. But I could be wrong. I keep an open mind. Sort of

ghostsIt happened again this morning.

I was walking across my supermarket parking lot and saw a fellow from afar and thought, “Hey, there’s (whomever).” And then I caught myself and clarified my mind and realized the person I thought this guy was happened to be dead.

As time goes by this happens to me more often. You know, the body count of acquaintances gets bigger and sometimes you forget who is still living this side of the grass. The realization is sometimes disconcerting.

I don’t mean to be callous about the idea of mortality, mainly because it’s something that happens to all of us. Death, that is. Nor do I intend to be unduly morbid. But, it is a simple fact that the dead are, in a word, ‘dead’.

Elvis has left the building.

Permanently.

The most disconcerting event I had with regards to the earlier incident was once being in yet another carpark and I saw a guy who made my heart jump. He was the spit of my father; a virtual doppelganger for the old man. But, since my dad had died a couple of years earlier, it was merely a matter of kind of uncanny resemblance. Yet, the incident has always stuck in my mind.

Some might be driven to say it was a spiritual manifestation of Dad. You know, a ‘ghost’ of some sort. Naw, it wasn’t. Just a resemblance and perhaps my father had been on my mind. That happens when you miss somebody.

I don’t believe in ghosts or spiritual visitations any more than I believe in UFOs and ETs paying a call and having their sexual ways with us. Speaking of that sort of thing, I was always enchanted by the idea of succubi coming to violate me in the middle of the night.

I don’t believe the ‘white light’ tales and people coming back from the dead.

I don’t believe out-of-body experiences. Yeah, I smoked that stuff a few times way back when but all I got was sleepy and stupid.

I don’t believe any of those things..

But, my non-belief doesn’t imply non-existence. That’s a whole other matter.

I’m not sure where I sit on the God issue, for example. I don’t know if I really can credit the idea of some spiritual overlord who gives a flying fart whether or not I take his name in vain. If there is a God I would doubt that He/She/It is quite so ego motivated. “Smite that bastard, Peter! For the third time this week he’s taken my name in vain!”

I don’t know. I’d like any concept of a godhead to be more ‘big-picture’ oriented rather than caring what kind of an edifice we visit to pay our respects and whether or not we have genital tinglings over the neighbor-lady hanging our her wash in short-shorts and halter top. You know, stuff like war and environmental despoliation should maybe be higher on the list of concerns.

That said, I have been known to utter prayers.

Just to be on the safe side.

And to give thanks. I do believe in gratitude.

6 responses to “Dead is dead. As far as I know. But I could be wrong. I keep an open mind. Sort of

  1. Gratitude is good for the soul in the here-and-now, no matter what the possibilities of other- and after-life. 🙂

  2. I don’t believe ins “ghosts” except as motors for scary stories. I also don’t believe in god or an afterlife. I’ve tried, but it simply makes no sense to me that there’s “someone” guiding our destinies and waiting for us in heaven. Obviously, as I get older and feel less and less immortal, I can’t help but think it would make things much easier if I didn’t believe the end was, well, the end.

    On the other hand, it means I don’t think I’ll get another chance, either in the afterlife or as some reincarnated something, so it makes living life to the fullest much more urgent (for want of a better word).

    • I get torn by the same quandary as you. My problem is I ‘believed’ more about ‘future’ possibilities when I was younger. Cynical — moi?

  3. Even though I am not a goddess, although I do try and play one in real life, I am sure there may have been people that uttered my name in vain, and had I heard them, I am quite sure I may have wanted to smite them. My spiritual beliefs keep my smite gene in check, while at the same time remove any fear of death. I, like you, can not imagine if there is a God that he, or she would be concerned about me uttering his/her name in vain when there are clearly bigger fish to fry… heads of major corporations that destroy the planet and some politicians come to mind.
    And Jazz, you are so right about the urgency of living life to the fullest, no matter if we have one lifetime, or many more. Good on you, lady.
    I also have huge faith that in just a moment your whole life can change and become amazing, and that possibilities are not age dependent. I must confess, I am pathologically optimistic. I believe in miracles and that if we change our thoughts, the stories we tell ourselves, we can change our lives. I believe these things, it feels like truth to me, and it keeps me enormously happy and mentally resilient. I am aware that some people might roll their eyes at my Pollyanna attitude, but it works for me. Perhaps I will smite them 🙂

    • Oh, you are too a goddess. Just sayin’. And yes, I think you are pathologially optimistic but that’s good because it rubs off on those in your company.

Leave a Reply

