Land-line? Mobile-phone? How about no phone at all?

CellphonesPileWe’ve chatted of late about getting rid of our rip-off telephone landline and switching, as have to many, to cell phone usage exclusively.

Haven’t done that yet. On my part it is an aspect of hating all manner of telephone usage and its hideous ubiquity in modern affairs. So, landline or cell phone, for me it’s WTF? I hate them all. Phones, who needs ‘em? That’s why God invented email.

Part of my balking motivation stems from the fact I’m old and curmudgeonly and grew up in the era of party-lines and rotary dialing. Part of my motivation stems from the fact I was a newspaper reporter for many years and got tired of some asshole ringing up to inform me that he/she had spotted a typo in the 2nd paragraph of some piece of dreck about a drecky council meeting and “if this happens again, I’m going to cancel my subscription.” I normally resisted the impulse to respond with “oh, please do.”

But, the biggest part of my telephone antagonism arises from the fact that I live in Canada. Canada, for those unenlightened as to our reality, pays the highest cell-phone rates in the entire world. This is no exaggeration.

How can that be? Well, you might ask that. That can be because there is a widely-held misapprehension about the Great White North. And that is, we are exactly like the US only politer. Well, wrong on a number of counts. In the first place we aren’t more polite at all. The other wrong assumption is that our economy is a free-market economy like that of our brethren to the south. That is just not so.

Our economy, except at the lower levels of commerce, is a series of government protected monopolies that royally screw the consumer at any turn they can and they can get away with it. We have a tiny number of cell-phone subscription options and they all charge virtually the same rates to subscribers and, unlike those in other countries, we don’t have the option to shop around for a better deal. All those wonderful plans advertised on US TV channels are off limits to us because the feds control it all and they look out for their friends. We (the users) aren’t their friends, by the way.

So, if you are pissed off in Canada in being stuck with a cumbersome, hugely expensive locked-in phone plan, then “tough patooties”, say the feds despite the suggestion those strictures are about to be eased according to the latest news.

Again, we do not have a market-borne economy. We have officially sanctioned cartels. Much as is the case with the petroleum companies that do not compete, they merely fix rip-off prices that bear no resemblance to the actual per-barrel cost of oil these days.

But, that’s OK because it seems that our banking magnates earn (no, that should be ‘make’) among the highest rates of executive pay in North America. Glad somebody is doing well.

OK, now I’m going to take off my curmudgeon badge and go out in my free-enterprise garden.

And haven’t yet made any decision on the telephone matter.

10 responses to “Land-line? Mobile-phone? How about no phone at all?

  1. I finally went landline-less a year or two ago. I actually had to argue with Ma Bell to get my service cancelled. But I’m lucky in that I get a really great deal (for Canada at any rate) via the Mr.’s job on an iPhone that allows me to tether my computer when I’m at the cottage with a huge amount of data streaming for peanuts (again, comparatively speaking). So presto! email at the cottage.
    Gotta admit though, I use the phone mostly for email and texting – I use maybe 15 of my 300 monthly minutes. Cuz yeah, I HATE talking on the phone.

    • You and me both about hatred of phone chatting. We haven’t yet made our final landline decision but we are going to cut back to one mobile between the two of us, and we’ll get one with more toys.

  2. I have a mobile for ease of use…When busy, annoyed or sleeping, I turn it off. No probs being invaded by gabbers.

    • That’s one thing I do like about mobile phones, and that is that you can turn them off. On the other hand, if you’re angered by the person on the other end, you can’t slam them down in rage.

  3. I dropped the landline a year and a half ago, and my only regret is that I didn’t choose a cellphone company that actually provides consistent service where I live. I get no reception in my basement and it’s in and out everywhere else in the house. DD is with a different company, has an older phone, and she has absolutely no problems. PG is with the same company as DD, has the same phone as me, and again, has absolutely no problems. So I’m kinda excited that with the new CRTC rules, I’ll be able to get out of my contract with no penalty after only 2 years, and then I will switch to that other company whose cellphones actually function in my house.

    • Yes, I’m pleased about the new rules, too, though they don’t go far enough in my esteem, but our contracts will be less restrictive. Weird about your reception, though.

  4. I have been phone-less for about a year and a half now. I love it. I hate talking on the phone and am more than happy to be off the grid. Friends sometimes get frustrated that they are unable to reach me, but hey, I am worth a bit of frustration. They can email me, or use Facebook. I like to fly under the radar. If I need to make a call, I have skype on my iPad and it costs only pennies to make a call anywhere in the world. My world has not collapsed because I am without a phone. I tend to live a bit off the grid compared to most people, and that makes me feel liberated and happy. I applaud your thinking. Cell phones are the biggest nightmare, at least you can leave a landline at home. Good luck to finding the perfect solution.

    • I so totally applaud your telephone attitude. I cringe whenever the phone rings, and I loathe all the crap marketing and pollster calls, and you, my dear, have found a way to escape them. Bravo.

  5. I love all these opinions about phones. Back in the day, the only conversation about phones was how much everyone hated sales calls at dinner. We all agreed on that. I love talking on the phone and have an earpiece for my landline and can go about hands free. I do not like to talk on my cell,and use it mostly for texting.

  6. I think cellphones are horrible for conversing. And, about liking to talk on the phone. Wendy and her best friend can talk on the phone for about 9 hours even if they’re going to be seeing each other later in the day. I don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

