Fiddle-dee-dee, get away with you, lady

DSCN2009So, we’re quietly and ever-so-placidly walking along a street near our home, Wendy, Max and I, when a woman approaches on the sidewalk and makes a big loop onto the roadway and then looks at us disdainfully and speaks:

“He’s not on a leash,” she says. “Dogs are supposed to be leashed!”

Silly bint (I thought of another word that ends in ‘nt’ but am too polite to use it. All I thought was, since when are dogs supposed to be leashed when they’re well-behaved and Max in now way violated her space in a manner resembling how she violated ours by suggesting we shouldn’t live our lives in the way we choose.

I simply smiled and suggested sotto voce that she should have sexual intercourse with herself. I didn’t say it very loudly, though I was tempted, perhaps as a service to somebody who, with her attitudes, probably doesn’t have too many people seeking carnal congress with an individual with such an attitude.

Anyway, my conclusions about the matter are: a) she is a dog-hater. She is one of those sorts who for some reason espy mounds of dog poop in every public place, even though we rarely see it and always fastidiously pick up after our charge. Anyone who has ever walked with me knows this to be true. And in that, she is probably an animal-hater in general. And b) she is a control-freak, deeply in love with rules and regulations and who suffers angst because there aren’t enough rules and worse, people like us don’t always obey them when we know we are doing no harm at all.

prudence_prude_I suspect most strongly the control-freak. You know who they are. They seek more and more rules and restrictions on our lives. These are the people who destroyed playground fun for kids, who balk at off-leash dog parks, and who would like to see the handful of remaining smokers executed. At their least harmful these people are merely tiresome killjoys like the prude pictured with this who is terrified that somebody might be having fun, and at the extreme end are the thuggish nazi and fascist sorts who, if you don’t obey the rules, will have you rounded up and sent to the camp.

Now, a word about dogs on leash. We worship at the shrine of Cesar Milan and share his view, which boils down to the fact that an off-leash dog is invariably better behaved and far, far less likely to be aggressive. We leash Max on city streets due to our own traffic fears, and we leash him in public spaces where lots of people abound. And we leash him if a dog-owner in the vicinity asks us to due to the aggressive nature of their own canine. Otherwise, he is naked of leash and those who know him know he’s one of the best-behaved dogs on the planet.

So, and of course respectfully, up yours, lady.

17 responses to “Fiddle-dee-dee, get away with you, lady

  1. Max is certainly a handsome dog.

  2. I’m with you. I use the leash to Kye as insurance (traffic), and a little reminder when he forgets to whom he should pay the most attention. I expect we’ll get to the point where he knows, and follows, -all- the good manners; then the leash will be little more than a formality, when required. (Still working on him walking -beside- me, rather than ahead with his head turned to keep an eye on me… I swear he’s going to walk into a hydro pole one of these days…)

    • And Max is a very mannerly dog. He didn’t even approach the woman, so the problem was hers alone. And yes, when traffic is heavy we choose to leash.

  3. You are looking at this all wrong. I’m with that lady in general. It is entirely the fault of assholes who let BAD dogs run around leash-free and I am sure she has encountered such a bad dog as have I. And that is the fault of the assholes who: A) didn’t properly train their dog and B) don’t care if their bad dog scares innocent folk. Some, in fact. find it amusing.

    • About the assholes with unruly dogs. Couldn’t agree more. And I too have encountered bad dogs and don’t give a shit owners. However, as I said, Max is very mannerly and did not approach the woman or violate her space at all.

  4. Unfortunately Ian, it is my experience that Max unleashed is the exception rather than the rule and you as an owner are the exception with an unleashed dog. . I am one of those with a dog who is a bit reactive to others and in most places I have him leashed, for his comfort and mine. As well, he has a very strong prey drive and while he has an excellent recall, I am not sure it would stand against a bunny or squirrel. I can’t tell you the number of times we have been rushed /accosted by exuberant unleashed dogs with their owners trailing behind futilely calling their names and “come”… which they ignore. And then they call to me… “it’s ok, he/she’s friendly and just wants to play”. My response usually is, “mine may not be, please call your dog”. I do want to also say that the dog’s behaviour is rude and dangerous, but often just want to get out of the situation. This is particularly common at the airpark and other public walk areas. I am careful with my dog, I wish others (yourself excepted) would be as well.

    • Max is generally unreactive to other dogs and unchallenging and very mannerly and we took pains to train him in that regard but he was also well-behaved when we got him and a little obedience training smoothed out the rough parts. I absolutely agree with you about the airpark which is one reason we never walk Max there. The odd time we did he was always leashed.

  5. I think you may not have seen it from her side. I have been attacked by unleashed dogs. The first time I was about 12 and a dog cam at me out of nowhere. I ran into the middle of a sprinkler to get away and the dog stood on the outskirts of the water growling and barking till someone heard and came to my rescue. I was attacked by a pitbull who the owner swore was “just playing with me.” If growling and nipping at me was playing, I would hate to see it angry! I have a fear of dogs now and when they approach, my heart races, not knowing what to expect. Most of the time, all is well and I soon calm. But I have that fear. So be patient. It isn’t that we do not like dogs, it’s just that we are wary from bad experiences.

    • There is no doubt the woman is fearful of dogs and therefore associates them with negativity. Dogs pick up on that and that’s one reason Max didn’t go near her. I’ve been bitten and attacked by dogs too, mainly in childhood. But we find that 90% of the dogs we encounter are benevolent and well-behaved.

  6. If dog is well behaved, I don’t much care one way or another if he’s leashed or not. But then, never having been attacked by I dog, I’m not afraid of them…

  7. Was she threatened in any way by Max? No.
    So she’s a control freak, not a scaredy cat.

  8. Max looks absolutely gorgeous. Some people choose to make other people’s business their business and it’s very ANNOYING!

    • He is a handsome fellow, isn’t he. Pure mongrel, collie/malamute/ and assorted other bits. And yes, we found the woman intruded on us more than Max did on her.

  9. I am a dedicated dog person. I am generally not so fond of humans, though.

Leave a Reply

