I won’t defend to the death your right to wear your pants at half-mast, but I also don’t really care that much

young assholes

I’m not sure where and when the ‘droopy drawers’ fashion statement began. I mean, when I was in high school we wore our jeans low-slung but we didn’t flash our skivvies at all and sundry in a highly disagreeable manner. We tucked our shirts in.

Some say it started with skateboarders. Fair enough. Many distasteful elements of contemporary society can be ascribed to rampant ‘skateboardism’, so why not saggy strides? I josh, of course.

My concern with the ‘look’ is twofold: 1) It’s stupid and 2) it’s highly disagreeable to the observer. Of course, part of the motivation of the young is to be offensive to their elders, and in that they succeed. It’s a bit like cyclists regularly confirming people’s worse (and sometimes even unfair) views about them.

knickersHalf-mast trousers seems to be a largely male domain. Would I object if females shared their undertogs with the rest of the world? I take that back, they also do; especially thong-wearers. But far be it from me to complain. And, somehow distaff drawers-flashing is different. I once watched a young mom tending to the needs of her toddler in a store by squatting down to his level – and displaying virtually half her bum crack. I thought of alerting the store manager about this affront to public decency, but refrained. She was, after all, being a dutiful mom at the time.

So, I must bear that in mind when I read entries on Facebook decrying the saggy strides look and wanting to see it banned from the eyes of the public. You see, I am always wary when people call for state interference in areas that are truly none of the state’s damn business, If horrible taste becomes a crime then I suspect a lot of folks are going to be locked up. And, chacun a son gout, after all.

It starts to enter the realm of anti-scent fanatics who seek flailing for those who dab a drop of Anais-Anais in their cleavage. Or anti-sidestream smoke psychos who want to see smoking relegated to a different universe.

Now, most of the adherents to droopy-drawers are young and the youthful are to be noted for their refusal to comply with normal precepts of acceptability. This is akin to young females in London in the early 1970s miniskirt days who would take pains to actually flash their knickers in public because the panties were part of their fashion statement. Tsk-tsk. Most disagreeable. I never thought..

I also notice in the TV series Cops most of the apprehended young felons sport the jeans to the knees look, Mere coincidence? Who am I to judge?

And really, is it all much more offensive than geezers who manage to find trousers with really long crotches so they can cinch them up just below the ribcage? Maybe we should just learn to accept that things come and go and some just aren’t worth getting exercised about.

I think that possibly applies to most things, yet too rarely does to important things like political sleaziness and environmental despoliation or how nice it would be to go for ten minutes without being embroiled in some overseas conflict with people who just won’t see things ‘our’ way.  .

10 responses to “I won’t defend to the death your right to wear your pants at half-mast, but I also don’t really care that much

  1. I think it does too, except that fragrance-wearing is right up there with the mess in Syria.

  2. Those sagging pants irritate me. I was told it started with some rappers, which I do not like either, and wish the fad would just go away!! As a woman, I prefer to see pants that fit and show the shape of the buttocks. Mmm yah! I hate seeing their underwear. I often will say, “your pants are falling down.” When walking behind them, what comes to my mind is a picture of a baby toddling off with a full diaper.
    Maybe we should start handing out suspenders to those wearing that style!??

    • Yep, I get the full diaper analogy. And as a man I like to see a woman in pants that show the shape of the buttocks too, for the obvious reasons. And she is welcome to keep her undies private.

  3. I will not complain about their droopy drawers if they don’t complain about my laughing at their ridiculous “look”.

  4. Actually, the droopy pants thing can’t really be considered a fad anymore, it’s been around for over 10 years after all. Every generation finds something to annoy their elders, in all honesty, who cares.

  5. The droopy-drawered are practically BEGGING to be ridiculed. I, for one, do not like to disappoint them.

Leave a Reply

