But truly not all electronic connectedness is a bad thing.

mo lettas

Some might see elements of my last blog as being a decrying of all innovations electronic. But that’s just not so. And I am about to tell you why.

There was once a time when I was an inveterate letter writer. I liked to keep in touch with friends and family and I tried to make my missives witty, droll, informative and chatty. But, of course, the snail-mail letter to and from friends and lovers has long since gone away.

By the way, I gave very good ‘love/lust letters’ and I kind of miss waiting for scented epistles from somebody about whom one held salacious and wanton thoughts. No way to perfume an email message, damn it. I know there are folks that are averse to scent for reasons both legitimate, due to allergies, and spurious just to be a pain-in-the-ass to others who might make different choices, but if a letter wafted with a nice scent then it was a kind of bonus.

But, there were regular letters. Chatty letters. Informative letters and I used to love the wit and wisdom of certain of my friends and if I saw a certain return address on an envelope I knew I was in for a good, thoughtful, sometimes bawdy and ofttimes hilarious read.

I still have certain letters that were keepers: love letters going right back to high school days, friendly letters, letters from relatives long since parted from this earthly sphere.

DSCN0933I have a very cherished slightly distant cousin in England whom I’ve known since she was in her teens and I wasn’t all that much older. She and I have corresponded for literally decades and prior to that I used to write back and forth with her mum who was one of the more charming women I have known and had a voice and accent just like the Queen’s. I miss her to this day. But Angie, her younger daughter – and all of Angie’s family, husband, kids, sister and now grandkids are, I consider very much part of my life.

And, when Angie and I wrote, our letters were inspired but were a long time in-between. Though, they were unscented for obvious reasons. I liked writing to her and she liked writing to me, I presume.

But, then came the wide-world of connectedness and Angie and I are connected via email, Facebook and so forth and it’s a sheer delight to me to hear from her regularly and to send messages off to her and family. I love it.

So, in that context, bravo this Brave New World. Parts of it I truly like.

5 responses to “But truly not all electronic connectedness is a bad thing.

  1. I used to love to write letters when young. I wrote to all my relatives, yet rarely received letters in return. But I did not give up. When I was 18 I did volunteer work with soldiers during the Vietnam war and got many addresses to write to the young men as they were sent overseas. I did receive responses and that was so special to me. No one writes letters anymore.

  2. Ian , this is a wonderful blog …don’t tell ANYONE this but it is the first I have ever read …being blog-phobic ! It sure was worth the wait ! Such marvelous sentiment and a great picture of you and Angie too. We miss Cicely still and she pops into our lives every day in some form or other . Thank you for sharing all this with us . Lizzie xx

    • I am bubbling over with your flattering comments, Lizzie. So happy you decided to drop by. Keep it in the family and I have for years considered your family an integral part of mine.

  3. I too was an inveterate letter writer when I was younger. 10-15 page letters were not unusual… I sort of miss those days.

Leave a Reply

