To me this carries empathy just a little too far, but what would I know about it?

prego

As most of you know, I have never been a father – at least not to my knowledge.. So that means I am lacking in a certain empathy about the elements ‘popdom’ involves.

One thing I do know, however, is that fathers now seem quite different from the tyrannical guys I grew up with – like my own, for example. Not to put too fine a point on it, my old man scared the shit out of me right up until I was an age when I realized I was taller than he was. He was kind of a runt.

Not that I ever engaged in fisticuffs with the old fellow. The kid next door (and my best friend) had a fistfight with his dad out in the yard one day. I thought it was pretty cool. And knowing my friend, right was probably on his dad’s part. Anyway, it didn’t mean all that much and he actually had a better long-term relationship with his dad, arguably, than I did with mine.

Anyway, old time dads of the spare the rod sort were also very little in touch with their so-called feminine side. Certain things were left to the ‘little woman’ and the old man did guy stuff which, if he had sons, was to raise them to be ‘men’, and if he had girls his role was to either beat the snot out of some young creep who took liberties with his little girl, or to at least let him know that the threat was omnipresent. I was always afraid of the fathers of girls I dated.

Now much has changed. Men are not only in touch with their feminine side as fathers, but it seems that they also want to be mothers as well, and hence you get expressions like “we’re having a baby,”. No, she’s having a baby, you were just a contributing factor in the process, but the kid comes out of her. That and, of course, the reviled by employers of any gumption, fathers taking maternity leave. neilsen prganant

But three men in England, according to an article I read, are also going through the process of pregnancy just to develop as much as they can the ultimate empathy they can muster for their poor helpmate who is suffering chronic backache, sporadic incontinence and flatulence, a popped-out navel, gestation diabetes, varicose veins and all the other charming elements of propagating the race.

Well these guys wanted to know how it felt, so they strapped 33 lb. False preggo tummies to themselves to simulate what it feels like to be nine months pregnant. What can I say about this? Not much. Obviously sensitive guys with a hell of a lot of time on their hands who are also missing the obvious part of the occasion, which is the time when you have to “call the midwife” and get the often painful procedure over with.

Maybe I am just too cynical about it all. I mean, what would I know. Except for a brief interlude in which I was a stepfather to a girl, I have never been through anybody’s birthing experience in which a child of my own popped out.

What’s that like? I shall never know.

As an aside, I happen to think pregnant women are attractive and kinda sexy.

7 responses to “To me this carries empathy just a little too far, but what would I know about it?

  1. Typical of men to think that having an extra 33 lbs. of weight strapped on will tell them all they need to know about pregnancy. I suppose it’s better than nothing but really pretty pointless if you ask me. You asked me, right? 😉
    As for fathers being more into parenting these days, I personally find it a blessing. Our home and family wouldn’t be able to function properly if my husband was a hands-off sort of dad instead of the all-in sort that he is. And the kids seem to like it too. He is the kind of dad that he wishes his father was to him, so that’s nice.
    This all makes me wonder what my sons will complain about when they are grown. I think everyone complains about their childhood, right? I’m sure they’ll think of something.

  2. You could know what it is like to give birth! See these 2 videos where doctors can give men the experience.

  3. I don’t see the point of strapping on a preggo belly either, but, like you, what do I know, I’ve never had kids – or the urge to go there. I find it a little ridiculous actually. Just be there for your spouse.

    • If I’d had a kid I wouldn’t want to be there for the delivery. I would like for it to be like the old days, out chainsmoking in the waiting room. That’s where mean are supposed to be.

      • I disagree totally. The waiting room might be where men want to be but I think if you are there for the planting you should be there for the harvest as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

