I love Chrissie Hynde but I think she’s miles wrong on this point

NEW YORK, NY - JUNE 16:  Musician Chrissie Hynde attends the 42nd annual Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at The New York Marriott Marquis on June 16, 2011 in New York City.  (Photo by Michael Loccisano/Getty Images)

NEW YORK, NY – JUNE 16: Musician Chrissie Hynde attends the 42nd annual Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at The New York Marriott Marquis on June 16, 2011 in New York City. (Photo by Michael Loccisano/Getty Images)

Damn, the mores surrounding sexual behavior get more and more complicated as times change, and people in the public eye are advised to be mores scrupulous than ever in making pronouncements that might offend the sensibilities of others. It behoves us to learn the ‘rules’ of the current zeitgeist, methinks.

No, I’m not about to mount an ill-advised defence of Bill Cosby and those who persist in doing so are, at the very least naifs in huge denial. No, the Cos, who used to be a very funny and articulate man is beyond redemption by this point. Sorry, Bill, but maybe you should have learned to keep it in your pants or reserve its performance for your spouse. That’s because it’s not alleged you were a philanderer (that’s for you and the missus to work out) but because it’s alleged you were a fucking rapist. That’s big.bill-cosby-face

But, in this case, I am going to make reference to a female who has gotten herself in hot-water by making statements that seem to fly in the face of current sensibilities. Chrissie Hynde, late of the Pretenders and quite one of my favorite musicians of any time.

Anyway, Hynde recounted for a UK publication how, when she was 21 and ripped on ludes decided to accept the invitation to go to a party with a biker gang. Well, the ‘party’ in question was theirs and the members proceeded to have their way with her.

However, rather than blaming them, Hynde blamed herself. “It was all my own doing,” she said. She attested she put herself in a position of risk.

Well, now, I like Chrissie as an entertainer but perhaps she should leave off the role of amateur sociologist, let alone apologist for bad behavior by others. That’s not like Cos continuing to deny any culpability for his perfidy and blaming the rape victims. popsies

I know human nature doesn’t work the way we’d like it to in a ‘nice’ world, but theoretically a lady should be able to sport herself in camel-toe enhancing short shorts and nipple exposing halter without some asshole trying to take advantage and then using the excuse that she’d enticed him. Well now, children, I have been enticed many times (thank God) but I have never used such enticements as an excuse for unwanted or uninvited attentions.

So, in that context, Chrissie, as much as I love you as a rocker I also think you’re full of shit.

8 responses to “I love Chrissie Hynde but I think she’s miles wrong on this point

  1. I just cannot comment on this type of thing. I am aghast!

  2. I was raped while on Quaaludes (at 18) and did blame myself for a few years. Then I suddenly knew better, got over my shame and told all my guy friends back home who it was. They all knew him. Durham is not that big a town, and people started talking. I’ll never know if it was related, but his wife left him a few years after I told everyone, and I believe he died within the next 10-15 years, not sure from what, but he was younger than me so he must have been in his late thirties or early forties. People always want karma to work really quickly, but I think 15- 20 years is fine.

  3. OK, not the smartest situation to put oneself into, but when will we understand that it’s NOT OUR FAULT for fuck sake?!?! I blamed myself for years. But you know what? There is no excuse. None. Ever. Violence is always the fault of the perpetrator.

  4. What was she taking when she made her pronouncement?

Leave a Reply

