Little old Proustian me, time for a revisit

marcelproust137794

I have done the Proust Questionnaire a few times in my blogging history, but it’s always fun to run it up again to see if my answers have changed, and also because I am creatively brain-dead at the moment and this is a bonny way to screw the pooch while awaiting genuine inspiration. If you find it interesting, you might want to tackle it yourselves.

Here is Proust’s Questionnaire:

  1. What is your idea of perfect happiness? Removing the underwear of an enchanting woman with whom I am madly in love; or taking a cruise from Vancouver through the whole of the tropical Pacific and through to the Antipodes.

  2. What is your greatest fear? Well, duh, death of course. That and breaking wind whilst being knighted.

  3. What is the trait you most deplore in yourself? Cowardice.

  4. What is the trait you most deplore in others? Dishonesty

  5. Which living person do you most admire? Barack Obama. Not because he is the best president ever; he’s not. But because he is such a symbol, and also because he is a kind, intelligent and fiercely witty man. I just plain like him when you compare him with the vile political deadwood out there.Marcel-Proust-Quotes-5

  6. What do you consider the most overrated virtue? Moral upstandingness. Ill-disguised hypocrisy usually.

  7. On what occasion do you lie? When my ass needs covering and somebody I cherish is in jeopardy of being inadvertently hurt.

  8. What do you most dislike about your appearance? Aside from the well-earned lines of age I see looking back to me, I generally like my appearance.

  9. Which living person do you most despise? You mean aside from Donald Trump? He pretty much does it for me, though I’d throw in his bum-buddy Vlad Putin who is much more dangerous.

  10. What is the quality you most like in a man? Honesty and intelligence

  11. What is the quality you most like in a woman? Intellect and humor. If you thought I was going to say nice boobs, you’d be wrong, sorta.

  12. Which words or phrases do you most overuse? “Aroint thee, witch, the rump-fed ronyon cried.” Other than that, I got nothing.

  13. What or who is the greatest love of your life? Would depend on the stage of life I am at. There have been a number of great loves I am happy to say. Currently that’d be Wendy, and until recently, Max.IN-SEARCH-OF-SWANNS-WAY_Huet_Proust

  14. When and where were you happiest? Happiness, for me, is not a constant.

  15. Which talent would you most like to have? I have been very talent blessed. I suppose I’d like to be able to write and paint just a bit better.

  16. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? Likely my tendency to procrastinate.

  17. What do you consider your greatest achievement? Developing the ability to forgive. May not seem like much but it’s actually huge.

  18. If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be? An orca T

  19. Where would you most like to live? Here, Hawaii or England depending on my mood.

  20. What is your most treasured possession? My home, wherever it might be.

  21. What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery? Ill health and loneliness.

  22. What is your favorite occupation? What I already do.

  23. What is your most marked characteristic? My brooding sensuality. I don’t know. Help me out here.

  24. What do you most value in your friends? Loyalty. Sometimes in disappointingly short supply.

  25. Who are your favorite writers? There are so many and they have changed through the years. Currently Bill Bryson is a literary hero, a while ago Douglas Adams, and always Orwell.

  26. Who is your hero of fiction? Arthur Dent who tries so hard.

  27. Which historical figure do you most identify with? Honestly none, but I always admired FDR.

  28. Who are your heroes in real life? Few and far between.

  29. What are your favorite names? I don’t really have any, though I have always had a bit of a soft spot for Irish and Welsh names.

  30. What is it that you most dislike? Vulgarity

  31. What is your greatest regret? Not having pursued certain skills (and people) more diligently, especially that gorgeous girl on a Munich railway platform many long years ago.

  32. How would you like to die? In my sleep at a very advanced age.

  33. What is your motto? If nothing changes, nothing changes.

5 responses to “Little old Proustian me, time for a revisit

  1. Well, seeing as your chances of being knighted are slim to none (and Slim is outta town), you’re safe on the passing wind thing. 😜😜

  2. What is your idea of perfect happiness? Sunshine reflected off of blue eyes, those of my children, who are wearing innocent smiles.
    What is your greatest fear? That my children will somehow suffer bad fortune in life, in spite of my best efforts to give them only joy.
    What is the trait you most deplore in yourself? A lack of finesse when delivering truth.
    What is the trait you most deplore in others? Unabated weakness
    Which living person do you most admire? I’m too out of touch with current famous people to answer this I think.
    What do you consider the most overrated virtue? Virginity
    On what occasion do you lie? When my ass needs covering
    What do you most dislike about your appearance? That it changes with time. Just when I get used to it, in fact.
    Which living person do you most despise? See above re admiration – there is no one that comes to mind.
    What is the quality you most like in a man? Humility
    What is the quality you most like in a woman? Humor
    Which words or phrases do you most overuse? ‘I’m awesome’ Because, while I am awesome many moments of many days, I’m not actually always awesome.
    What or who is the greatest love of your life? My children. Losing my first son broke my heart into a million pieces and I wandered around dead for nearly 20 years until the birth of my second and then third children revived me some.
    When and where were you happiest? Right now, day by day, these are the happiest of my life.
    Which talent would you most like to have? To sing well would be a nice gift.
    If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? I wish I were more socially adept, as it stands I fumble more often than not.
    What do you consider your greatest achievement? Surviving tragedy
    If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be? A bird, wild and free
    Where would you most like to live? Alaska maybe. I think. France? Maybe.
    What is your most treasured possession? Pictures of days gone by.
    What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery? Loss of loved ones
    What is your favorite occupation? Food critic sounds nice.
    What is your most marked characteristic? My eyes probably
    What do you most value in your friends? Their ears
    Who are your favorite writers? My blogger buddies
    Who is your hero of fiction? Deuce Bigalo
    Which historical figure do you most identify with? I have nobody famous.
    Who are your heroes in real life? My brother is pretty awesome
    What are your favorite names? Classic common names like Bob and Tom
    What is it that you most dislike? Cruelty
    What is your greatest regret? Not finishing my education
    How would you like to die? Heroically while saving the life of another would be nice. There could be this amazing story that would accompany my obituary instead of the same old tripe you read about heroic battles with cancer.
    What is your motto? Be careful!

  3. roselefebvre24@comcast.net

    1. What is your idea of perfect happiness? A peaceful place in the forest enjoying the natural surroundings 2. What is your greatest fear? Blindness and death 3. What is the trait you most deplore in yourself? my gullibility 4. What is the trait you most deplore in others? vanity and lack of empathy 5. Which living person do you most admire? Barack Obama,(for same reasons you listed) because he is a kind, intelligent and a witty man. 6. What do you consider the most overrated virtue? Are any virtues overrated! 7. On what occasion do you lie? To keep from hurting someone. 8. What do you most dislike about your appearance? The wrinkles and excess baggage. 9. Which living person do you most despise? Donald Trump and the head of the KKK. 10. What is the quality you most like in a man? Kindness, sense of humor and a great butt. 11. What is the quality you most like in a woman? Humor and kindness also. 12. Which words or phrases do you most overuse? ???????? 13. What or who is the greatest love of your life? My husband, who died Nov 10 2012 14. When and where were you happiest? Here in Oregon all the time 15. Which talent would you most like to have? I’d like to be able to dance to take people’s breath away and be an amazing photographer. 16. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? Be stronger and stand up for myself. 17. What do you consider your greatest achievement? My poetry 18. If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be? A cat owned by a very rich animal loving person who loves to spoil me! 19. Where would you most like to live? Here in gorgeous Oregon 20. What is your most treasured possession? A porcelain doll my husband bought as a surprise for me. 21. What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery? Ill health and loneliness, same as you. 22. What is your favorite occupation? Retirement would be, but when I worked as preschool teacher was my favorite. 23. What is your most marked characteristic? Honesty, but friends tell me it is my kindness. 24. What do you most value in your friends? Acceptance of me with any flaws and quirks. 25. Who are your favorite writers? The poet Billy Collins who is so witty; Ray Bradbury; William Paul Young. 26. Who is your hero of fiction? The Lorax, he speaks for the trees for the trees have no tongues. 27. Which historical figure do you most identify with? Louisa May Alcott who was the author of “Little Women,” who also served as a civil war nurse and was an activist for women’s suffrage . 28. Who are your heroes in real life? Dalai Lama . Mahatma Gandhi. Martin Luther King, Jr. 29. What are your favorite names? Amanda, Cassandra, Matthew 30. What is it that you most dislike? Dishonesty, vanity and lack of empathy 31. What is your greatest regret? I do not dwell in regrets but live in hopes and ideas. 32. How would you like to die? Peacefully and painlessly and at the age of 103 33. What is your motto? Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass. It’s about learning to dance in the rain.

    Took a while but I did it! Rose L.

Leave a Reply

