Her Majesty’s a pretty nice girl — so here’s a health unto her

Princess Writing

30th May 1944: Queen Elizabeth II (as Princess Elizabeth) writing at her desk in Windsor Castle, Berkshire. (Photo by Lisa Sheridan/Studio Lisa/Getty Images)

So, here’s a health unto Her Majesty on her 90th. And in so-saying let me make it perfectly clear I am not a monarchist. I think Royals and all that pomp-and-circumstance are fine in England where they belong, but not here.

At the same time, however, I am a huge admirer of the Queen. She has served all her underlings well during her long stint at the Monarchical helm. As for the rest of them, I’d be happy to see our ties severed – very happy. Charles? S’truth, he is such a dud compared with his mum. Utterly lacking in charm. William is OK and has a really hot wife. I segue towards Harry, however. I like him.

Anyway, I have seen the Queen a few times over the years, and the first time I saw her was when I was a very wee lad and she was still ‘Princess’ Elizabeth. I thought she was very pretty. And she has held up pretty well, too. Very well considering her gruelling tasks. Long past the age most people have retired she still does a yeoman-like job of attending excruciatingly boring functions. Gadzooks how taxing that must be.

But taxing is likely good and that gives the old dear the pounds and pence that make her task a bit worthwhile.

Monarchy is an odd role. One is born into it and one can be a frightful and self-indulgent dud like the Queen’s uncle, Edward who sold it all out to marry a remarkably homely woman, or one can be the like the Queen and devote her all to what she believes is expected of the role.

Long Live Her.

One response to “Her Majesty’s a pretty nice girl — so here’s a health unto her

  1. Personally, I would have done like Edward if they tried to stop my from being with the person I loved. I’d say to hell with it and let them sort it out. This said, monarchies are completely outdated and should be abolished. There is simply no point to them anymore.

Leave a Reply

