Them scary things that go bump in the night

afterlife

Wendy and I have become big fans of the Brit series Afterlife that has been playing on PBS of late. In essence it concerns a woman who is regularly visited by the dead and can see them and communicate with them and it’s actually a bit frightening at times.

We both like it. But, there is a difference between us. That is, Wendy believes in that stuff whereas I think it’s folderol, possibly even bunkum.

I reckon assertions of immortality are largely wishful thinking because none of us wants to die. I mean, even on our worst days we’d kinda like to keep trucking on. But mortality is something that happens to all of us. I don’t intend to be unduly morbid. But, it is a simple fact that the dead are, in a word, ‘dead’.

Elvis has left the building.

Permanently.

That is not to say I haven’t had moments that disconcerted me about that ‘permanence’. Once I was in a carpark and I saw a guy who made my heart jump. He was the spit of my father; a virtual doppelganger for the old man. But, since my dad had died a couple of years earlier, it was merely a matter of kind of uncanny resemblance. Yet, the incident has always stuck in my mind.

Some might be driven to say it was a spiritual manifestation of Dad. You know, a ‘ghost’ of some sort. Naw, it wasn’t. Just a resemblance and perhaps my father had been on my mind. That happens when you miss somebody.

I don’t believe in ghosts or spiritual visitations any more than I believe in UFOs and ETs paying a call and having their sexual ways with us. Speaking of that sort of thing, I was always enchanted by the idea of succubi coming to violate me in the middle of the night.

I don’t believe the ‘white light’ tales and people coming back from the dead.

I don’t believe out-of-body experiences. Yeah, I smoked that stuff a few times way back when but all I got was sleepy and stupid.

I don’t believe any of those things..

But, my non-belief doesn’t imply non-existence. That’s a whole other matter.

I’m not sure where I sit on the God issue, for example. I don’t know if I really can credit the idea of some spiritual overlord who gives a flying fart whether or not I take his name in vain. If there is a God I would doubt that He/She/It is quite so ego motivated.

I don’t know. I’d like any concept of a godhead to be more ‘big-picture’ oriented rather than caring what kind of an edifice we visit to pay our respects and whether or not we have genital tinglings over the neighbor-lady hanging our her wash in short-shorts and halter top. You know, stuff like war and environmental despoliation should maybe be higher on the list of concerns.

That said, I have been known to utter prayers.

Just to be on the safe side.

And to give thanks. I do believe in gratitude.

Oh, and if you have the impulse, watch Afterlife. It’s good stuff.

5 responses to “Them scary things that go bump in the night

  1. I do not usually watch those shows because if I do I start hearing and seeing things and finding that I’m a bit afraid of the dark. If I don’t watch such shows, the dark doesn’t bother me. Strange isn’t it! As for the afterlife, I do believe there is a God up there in Heaven. Perhaps not the Heaven many believe in, with pearly white gates etc., but a place where the good go after life is done, to keep watch over us living souls. Perhaps I’ll get to see it someday, but not too soon, I’m not done here yet.

  2. roselefebvre24@comcast.net

    I do have some belief. After my husband died, I received phone calls from his cell phone. But that cell phone had not been charged for months and was dead. My phone rang and it would say “Clay calling.” That happened several times and then stopped. Each time I would answer there was nothing. I had 2 friends witness this. They were shocked and felt he was trying to tell me he was okay, at peace, and no longer in pain. So I have some belief.

  3. I’m like you. Dead is dead. Gone is gone. You don’t live on. In the immortal words of Monty Puthon :
    “He has ceased to be! ‘E’s expired and gone to meet ‘is maker! ‘E’s a stiff! Bereft of life, ‘e rests in peace! If you hadn’t nailed ‘im to the perch ‘e’d be pushing up the daisies! ‘Is metabolic processes are now ‘istory! ‘E’s off the twig! ‘E’s kicked the bucket, ‘e’s shuffled off ‘is mortal coil, run down the curtain and joined the bleedin’ choir invisible!! THIS IS AN EX-PARROT!!”

Leave a Reply

