Not to put too fine a point on it but anti-vaccers are bad citizens

vaccwerI’m going to go out on a flimsy limb here and suggest that anti-vaccination fanatics are bad citizens.

I emphasize fanatics, as in those that are hell-bent on changing public policy and influencing the ways others think via spurious and sometimes religion-inspired paranoid nonsense.

I am not talking about the vaccination-wary or prudent. We should all be wary and prudent about any clinical process.

But of late the earlier-mentioned group has come out from under their rocks-of-ignorance and is trying to impose their nonsense on others. FB is full of them, for example.

My motivation in being pro-vaccine stems partially from growing up in the era of polio-rampant, and I went to school with lots of kids with withered arms and in leg-braces. And I know adult contemporaries that still suffer from the rigors of a vicious childhood illness.

An illness that has been largely eradicated due to the brilliant work of Drs. Salk and Sabin and I worship at their shrines, as I do with Frederick Banting and many others who were happy to ‘stick it to you’ to save your life.

As has polio gone, except in certain parts of the world, so has smallpox – completely, thanks to vaccination.

When did you last hear of somebody with diphtheria or typhoid fever? Those have largely been wiped out out due to vaccination, yet they used to kill thousands. Lately there has been an upsurge in whooping cough thanks to parents neglecting to get their kids vaccinated.

I recall years ago, in my reporter days, having a conversation with a local political aspirant during which he fulminated against the evils of all forms of vaccination and how his kids were never going to be vaccinated.

I suggested then that he had no right to be sending them into public schools and put other tads at risk due to his biases, or indeed did he have the right as a parent to put his own kids at risk?

In my malevolent thoughts about his stupidity during the conversation I thought I should ask him if they found a vaccine that could double IQ points – you know, that would maybe bring you up to room temperature, would you use it? I refrained, of course. Mom taught me to not be rude to the handicapped.

My point is this – and I’m not advocating gratuitous use of vaccines – I think vaccination has largely saved society and I look askance at those whose views, often based on mythology, would do away with it for everybody and try to do so by terrifying parents.

You want a medical campaign, folks, why not rail against the over-prescribing of antibiotics? That is putting the public at much greater risk.

6 responses to “Not to put too fine a point on it but anti-vaccers are bad citizens

  1. We are of the same mind then. 🙂

  2. OK, so when I travel I shouldn’t get vaccines for typhoid, yellow fever, tetanos, and such. Cool! It’ll be much cheaper to travel now.
    Call me brainwashed, but I’d rather not risk death if I don’t have to. Which reminds me, where did these people get the idea that vaccines cause autism? I never was able to figure that one out.

  3. @Jazz – In 1998 Dr. Andrew Wakefield authored a fraudulent study which asserted that the measles, mumps and rubella (MMR) vaccine can cause autism. His claims were published in The Lancet and though they have since been proved to be false some will never be convinced that the conclusions he drew were false.

    • Unfortunately that is what happens when people spew bullshit. And the Lancet should have been much more scrupulous on the matter. Thanks for your input my dear friend.

Leave a Reply

