My newfound friend is truly an ‘old friend’

feernds

“Old friends,
Sat on their park bench
Like bookends.
A newspaper blown through the grass
Falls on the ’round toes
On the high shoes
Of the old friends.”

With the possible exception of the challenging adventure of life with my 2nd wife, my gut instincts about people in my life have generally been pretty accurate. In that instance I shall confess that other factors came into play and weren’t entirely her fault, lest you think I am unfairly damning her.

But, in most cases the feelings in my gut have worked. Yesterday I linked up with

with a blogger and Facebook friend whom I have known in an electronic realm for well over a decade. She is a bright, creative and exceptionally ‘genuine’ person and that is something I lave always liked and admired in her.

And I always wanted to meet her. Yesterday I had that privilege.

She and her husband (great guy) were on vacation from California and decided to drop by Vancouver Island. And then, when enquiries were sent, decided to drop by the Comox Valley.

It was a close encounter of the best kind.

What I found in short order is that I harbored no misconceptions about her, and she found the same with me. It became apparent quite quickly that we were not only at ease but that we felt we already knew each other well. People decry the modern reliance on the electronic media and such chat rooms as Facebook as something shallow and crass. About which I will say, it depends on how one uses them.

I interact with many people on FB and have for a lot of years. I can honestly say that anybody I have ultimately linked up with in RT has been what they presented themselves as being. Truly, not a clinker in the lot of my contacts, and there are others there whom I have not yet met in life but look forward to doing so when the time comes.

In the case of the aforementioned person it was more than that. We truly felt bonded and there was a huge mutuality. Once, years ago, she shared with me, via e-mail, a bit of a personal crisis she had recently undergone – a ‘bit of’?? It was a horrible personal crisis and I was so grateful that she trusted me, unmet as yet, enough to share.

I love the people in my life and this includes the ones I haven’t yet met. Yesterday proved that when it is meant to happen it can only be a good thing.

The person above is an ‘old friend’ despite the fact we only met yesterday for the first time.

Leave a Reply

