The hell with Great Pumpkins, I want to see graves opening

Mexico Day of the DeadSo Halloween has come and gone once again. Can’t say I am so sorry about that. It’s an odd custom. Give little children masses of tooth-rotting and pre-diabetes candy in the name of some nether world connectedness. Weird.

I have noticed that a lot of people went to Halloween shindigs. Well, I don’t think it has anything to do with my lack of personal freshness, but I have never been to an adult All Hallows Eve social event. The holding of such things is a kind of recent phenomenon. Or else I am such a social pariah that people made sure I wasn’t invited. I am choosing to think, however, it’s all reflective of changed mores of behavior.

Now picture that old movie cliche of a calendar with falling leaf pages just to indicate we are going back in time, OK?

So, I am going to be a pirate – again – mainly because I can’t think of anything else to be, so in recall I was predominantly a pirate-like kid, maybe right down to an eye-patch. A scar on my face, of course. I wanted a hook, too, but couldn’t figure out how to master such a prostheses, so the ensemble was generally a headscarf and a striped tee-shirt.

Wait, I do remember an adult Halloween party. Pardon the segue to current time. I also remember being dazzled by a very pretty lady dressed as a little Dutch girl. OK, now back to times past.

We would troll the neighborhood. Most people were pretty generous even though times were tighter then. Candy, gum, and especially candy-apples were at the top of the desired list. Popcorn balls were good, too, except if they were left in the pillow slip swag bag they made everything stick together. Anyway, local lore told us which places were good, which were cheapskate and would hand out withered apples, and which gave crummy stuff like raisins of shitty peanuts in the shell.

Once we had done our ‘route’ we headed to the community centre for the fireworks show and some hot chocolate. And finally, back home where the old man would haul out the fireworks he’d brought home with him. And we had our own firecrackers, which were still legal. All the way from ladyfingers to bombs, and my fingers remain intact despite their alleged risks. Firecrackers invariably came from China and inside the red wrappers were vestiges of Chinese newspapers.

And that was pretty much it. Personally I like the Hispanic Dia de los muertos, All Saints Day, which follows Halloween immediately. Day of the Dead. How cool. Ghoulies and ghosties all rise up from their graves and provide creative inspiration to drink-sodden Malcolm Lowry in his fascinating and confusing novel Under the Volcano.

If you want to see some cool Day of the Dead stuff, there is a great little shop that caters to the festival in San Diego Old Town.

And that is pretty much my Halloween tale

One response to “The hell with Great Pumpkins, I want to see graves opening

  1. roselefebvre24@comcast.net

    They had parties where we went dressed in costumes back in the 60’s and 70’s. I went to some! It seems there were always parties every year to give people a chance to gather and be children again!

Leave a Reply

