How’s your Palm Pilot working these days?

How is your Palm Pilot working these days? Walkman still in fine fettle? Been faxing your friends a lot of late? Ludicrous, no? In the age of the ubiquitous BlackBerry, I pod and emails such questions are mirth-inducing because technology has moved along. Some would say ‘advanced’, but I’ll be content with just ‘moved along’, much as your Prius has moved along from a Model-A Ford.

Yet, those items I mentioned were up-to-the-minute not so very long ago. And now they’re gone. They’re funny in their hopeless quaintness, much as 8-track decks are an absolute laugh-riot, used often by stand-up comics to represent an archaic mentality in some stuck-in-time individual.

Yet, technological change is not faddism per se. Instead, it’s representative that whatever is in current use is in some way preferable to what preceded. And the new stuff takes over our consciousness so rapidly and fully that we scarcely remember and rarely think of that which preceded. When did you last think about a rotary dial telephone? Or going back a bit further, party-lines and contacting the operator who would inquire, “Number puh-lee-yuz” like Lily Tomlin did in her old Laugh-In routine. Few people younger than a certain age would get the humor.

Out on a shelf in my garage sits a typewriter. It’s a fine electric typewriter; a costly one that was absolutely up-to-the-minute when I bought it in the late 1980s. I did a lot of work on that machine and it was a highly satisfactory one. It’s still in perfect working-order. But, in 1994 I bought my first computer, and the trusty typewriter went onto a shelf, never to be resurrected.

My first computer, a fine and reliable Mac, was a desk model. Big and cumbersome and featuring a dial-up modem to connect me to the Internet, and to such pre-Google providers as Alta-Vista. I recall beginning a search that would take an inordinate amount of time and literally as often as not the search would either crash or somebody in the household would pick up the telephone to make a call, cut off the connection, and I would be forced to begin all over again. Ultimately I got an extra telephone line into the house so that such an eventuality could be avoided. However, in pre-cable or wireless days it still didn’t speed up the process in terms of time or efficiency.

And that first computer with all its cumbersome components, its modem, its Zip-drive and its crappy little inkjet printer (that sometimes worked) cost a small fortune, relatively. Meanwhile, I am typing this on a little Acer laptop that (touch wood) is still chugging along after four years and was cheap-like-borscht to purchase, and the laser printer to which it is connected was cheaper than my inkjet crap.

In so-saying, however, I am wary of technological change. In the first place I have very little techno-geek about me so I am not at all enchanted by advances. A tool is a tool and it aids me in some way to carry out my life in a less frustrating and inefficient manner, I’ll buy in. But I won’t take part if I see no advantage. Furthermore, that which is trendy sometimes lies in jeopardy of being this year’s Palm Pilot or 8-track.

Or maybe it’s just that I’m a cheapskate bastard.

As I’ve mentioned before, my car is a 1992 model. It’s a lovely little car. It’s a Nissan NX-2000 and goes like hell and only has 150 K on the clock (and that’s kilometers, not miles). And, with the T-roof off on a summer day, it’s like veritable motoring heaven. So, despite all the wonderful features some newer cars offer, I am absolutely content with my old Nissan. I can’t imagine not being with it. It would seem disloyal. It would also mean I’d have to assume car payments after having been detached from such a consideration for well over a decade.

In another realm, I have toyed with the idea of getting a flat-screen TV because I’ll concede the picture quality is brilliant. But, our old TVs still work just fine, and at the end of the day, whatever the quality of resolution might be, you are still subject to the same crap offerings.

And I really would like to figure out what to do with that Smith-Corona in the garage where it sits lonely on a shelf right next to the venerable Nissan.

7 responses to “How’s your Palm Pilot working these days?

  1. LOL. My Palm pilot is charging as we speak but mainly it is a repository for information these days.

    My car is a 1994 but most of my other stuff is very uptodate, like computer and I’m on my third iPod and I refused to wait till my TV died to get HD even if the programs are less than stellar.

    It used to bother me that we had all this superfluous outdated stuff that I could not throw out but I am adjusting. 🙂

  2. We had the Audi for eighteen years before it finally had gone beyond worthwhile repair, and replaced it with a smaller Audi.
    The computer was replaced when the last one blew up – thank you, France Telecom for your wonderful provision of surge – and we did get a flat screen TV in order to watch the horse racing from the UK.
    I don’t have a mobile phone or cordless phone – enough people pester me on the landline as it is – I don’t know what a Blackberry is or an Ipod.
    I have what I neded to survive…..except for the TV which was an indulgence on the grand sccale.

  3. I always find it amazing how people always “need” the latest gadget on the market. Those marketing people are genius, they are.

  4. I always used to search through Alta Vista and was mighty suspicious of this Yahoo and google that people started banging on about.

    I always wanted the latest gadgets and then I gave up my London job and moved out here to the French countryside. I am now so far behind with modern stuff that I sometimes spend the day trying to catch up with all the very latest stuff online. ‘m craving a Palm Pre but they are not even available out here in France, which of course makes me want it more.

  5. Actually my last cell phone was a Sony walkman phone, so they aren’t gone, just advanced. And I still send faxes all the time at work. But I like tsome of the newer innovatins – the faster computers and smart pones. They are fine by me.

  6. I generally have enjoyed new technology whenever I could afford it. We needed a new HD TV as our old analogue gave up the ghost.
    As you say, though, we still have the same old crap to watch!
    I read an Oxy moron yesterday- a program about the funniest moments of American comedy! haha, NOT.

  7. Ifound your blog while searching for any clues to repair my Palm Pilot, which sadly has finally died after 10 years of loyal service. When I say died, that’s premature, it actually has Silicon Altzheimers. About 3 months ago it had a major episode and gave itself a hard reset, thereby wiping out all my phone numbers, addresses, calendar entries and budget records – not to mention some quaint old games. I forgave it and attributed that disaster to a decaying battery. The Palm company ‘no longer supports’ my model so I have been technologically stranded in the early 2000’s and shop assistants (who were only 6 years old when it was made) look at me with a mixture of amazement and pity when I show it to them and seek help. Anyway, I bought a new battery ($42!-gasp) and installed it but now the device just acts erratically – sometimes won’t switch on or off or respond to buttons – but in an unpredictable way. I have resigned myself to laying it to rest in one of the junk boxes under the house. I shouldn’t complain too much – it cost me nothing originally as I won it in a compettion- but I will miss it.

Leave a comment