It’s no worthy calling for the virtuous

There was a time, as I have mentioned before, in which I wrote a newspaper column. I cherished my column and at times possibly loved it more than my previous two wives, though not my dog.

My column wasn’t entirely dissimilar to my blogs in format and topics of discussion. It was predominantly whimsical – sometimes satirical, sometimes ironic (both concepts not readily embraced by all) – and often irreverent as hell. I was younger then and somehow felt (as many young people do) that I had the right to pee on the sacred cows of others.

But, after a time I matured (it ran for over 20 years) and became more respectful and arguably a better columnist. I actually wrote two columns. One here on Vancouver Island, and another in Great Yarmouth, England for a while. As well I produced assorted freelance bits of editorial comment in both Canada and the UK (pictured).

To write a column is to become something of a public figure, a reality that holds potential to make the ego soar and to also get (amazingly enough, since I was a dorky writer not a rock star) overt sexual offers from some female readers. Whether or not I responded happily to any of those offers will not be stated here.

Something else that happened was that I developed (almost as a surprise) a fairly significant following among young readers, and on a few occasions was invited to speak to high school journalism classes. This wasn’t a problem for me, since I am a former teacher and I am not afraid of public speaking. 

Recently I found one of my presentations for a local high school class. At this moment your eyes can glaze over and you can move to another blog, or you can read the comments I made a number of years ago on: How To Be a Columnist.

  1. Disregard any advice telling you how to be a columnist. Columns, like your underwear drawer, are very personal things and reflect aspects of your individuality. You can’t be taught how to write a column.
  2. What is my process? You are probably asking yourselves, or not. It is:

a)    think of a topic

b)    write about it

c)    conclude it

Thinking of that old topic is the hard part. If you don’t have one in mind within a quarter of an hour, go for a walk, take tango lessons, or help out your parents for a change, for God’s sake.

If you do have a topic, but you are really struggling with it because it’s not going anywhere – drop it and think of another one. Some columns are not meant to be.

As for me, I just sit down and write and I do not rewrite. I may reread it a day or so later, before I’ve submitted it and may make some revisions. (this was in the days of hard copy before writers were electronically connected) I rarely have a conclusion in mind when I start. The columnist is drawing on inner resources and eventually, if things are working right, the column will virtually write itself. If it isn’t writing itself you may have chosen the wrong topic, you aren’t feeling well or you’ve been up late for too many nights.

  1. Don’t try to write like columnists you admire. It’s derivative and it will never appear natural. I love Mike Royko, for example, and I wish I could write like he does. On the other hand, he writes like he does, so why shouldn’t I want to write like I do?
  2. Easy writing can be vile hard reading. It’s true. Writing is a chore and the more you put into it the better time your readers will have.
  3. Master that old language. It is ‘the’ tool. Gain some experience and become an adept observer of the ebb and flow of everything. Make the reader say: “Hey, I didn’t know other people noticed those things.”
  4. Some columns will really suck. Hard to explain but even the best write badly or boringly at times. Surprisingly, sometimes a column you personally detest will be adored by readers. I don’t know why. Others, in which you labored to produce a gem, will pass by your readers virtually unnoticed. Don’t worry, you get paid for the duds, too.
  5. Humor is a weapon. You can catch more flies with honey, etc. Don’t come across preachy, even if you feel like it.
  6. Don’t label yourself. Don’t give away your political or religious sentiments readily. If you choose to take a doctrinaire point of view fine, but remember as you lambaste your enemies you’re going to piss a lot of people off and that can cost you readership. Yet, don’t wimp out, either. If you feel strongly about an issue then vent some spleen – once in a while. This can be effective if it comes as a surprise; as a departure from your regular style.

At the end of it all, the virtue of writing a column is that you have the freedom to mouth off without being interrupted. It’s a great ego-trip and that is why columns are so jealously guarded by those who have them.

14 responses to “It’s no worthy calling for the virtuous

  1. I love this! Great info. BTW, you’re a fabulous columnist and teacher, and I share your admiration for Royko.

  2. some columns are not meant to be

    Yeah really, I have tons of unpublished drafts in my blog. They’re just sitting there waiting to become gems.

  3. Sheesh, I could’ve used this advice 20 years ago! I’ve been struggling this year to write relevant columns that aren’t simply a waste of space in my newspaper. I think I’ve managed three since January. But I have another one formulating among the brain cells already, so may be on a two-in-a-row roll. Thanks for the inspiration! And thanks for continuing with your blog. My fave is still the toilet paper roll wraps.

  4. I was once trapped in the ladies public bathroom as a stranger vented her spleen at me for something I had written for my university’s paper…

  5. I wrote a fluff column called “Methinks…” for our medieval club’s newsletter. I sort of did a Burke in connecting all sorts of odd things together, all related to upcoming club activities, SCA culture, and the historical meanings and sources of words. The writing always started with a concept and wandered around on its own, and it was my job to find the track that would bring it full circle. Now I wish I’d saved all those writings…

  6. Good advice…did you write for the Eastern Daily Press?

  7. I did indeed write for the Eastern Daily Press — an adjunct, the Great Yarmouth Mercury.

  8. I want to write a column. On what? No idea. Where do I apply? But I will make sure to spell like a Canadian! 🙂 (BTW I couldn’t help noticing that the clipping you posted was clearly the Great Yarmouth job. Very ‘civilised’ of you! :))

  9. Andrea: Actually (ahem) that particular little piece was in the Sunday Times of London. Sorry, but ego stated I should scan that one rather than a more prosaic Mercury column.

  10. I used to spend too much time reading too many columns which of course led to irritation half the time. Now I only read Leonard Pitts. I always like what he has to say.

  11. See, when you get older your sense of thirst goes down and then you don’t drink as much fluid as you’re supposed to. This leaves you unable to pee as much on the sacred cows of others. That’s what that really is.

  12. Having to work with a word count, use prose that captures the reader and address the content theme is an art form. And to do it for 20 years is well, just amazing!!!

  13. I (obviously) like to write too, but I write for myself and for the fun of it, so I can do it when I please. But it certainly is interesting to know that I’m not the only person who has a germ of an idea, starts writing about it, and then it just takes off wherever it bloody well feels like it! Sometimes I am quite astonished as to the conclusion of my little compositions … sometimes in a good way, sometimes not so much!

Leave a comment